News and Commentary

‘I Want To Thank The Russian Academy’: Hillary Clinton Responds To News She’s Been Sanctioned By Russia
NEW YORK, NEW YORK - FEBRUARY 17:Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton waves as she prepares to speak during the 2022 New York State Democratic Convention at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel on February 17, 2022 in New York City. Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton gave the keynote address during the second day of the NYS Democratic Convention where the party organized the party's platform and nominated candidates for statewide offices that will be on the ballot this year including the nomination of Gov. Kathy Hochul and her Lt. Gov. Brian Benjamin. (Photo by Michael M. Santiago/Getty Images)
Michael M. Santiago/Getty Images

Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton responded Tuesday to the news that she was among the American officials who were officially sanctioned by Russia.

Financial Times’ Moscow Bureau Chief Max Seddon tweeted a list of the American officials who were sanctioned — up to and including President Joe Biden — along with the comment, “Russia has sanctioned Joe Biden and a range of other top US officials. The main impact of this is they can now make corny jokes on cable news about how they won’t be able to access their Russian bank accounts or go on vacation in Siberia, I guess.”

Clinton responded with a tweet of her own, saying, “I want to thank the Russian Academy for this Lifetime Achievement Award.”

The full list of sanctioned American officials includes:

  • President Joseph Robinette Biden
  • Secretary of State Antony John Blinken
  • Defense Secretary Lloyd James Austin III
  • Chairman of the Joint Chiefs Mark Alexander Milley
  • National Security Adviser Jacob Jeremiah Sullivan
  • Central Intelligence Agency Directer William Joseph Burns
  • White House Press Secretary Jennifer Rene Psaki
  • International Economics Adviser Daleep Singh
  • International Development Administrator Samantha Jane Power
  • Robert Hunter Biden
  • Former Secretary of State Hillary Diane Rodham Clinton
  • Deputy Treasury Secretary Adewale “Wally” Adeyemo
  • United States Export-Import Bank Chair Reta Jo Lewis

Russia’s sanctions of U.S. officials come as retaliation for the heavy sanctions leveled against Russia by the United States and other western countries, all part of the global response to Russia’s ongoing invasion of Ukraine.

Russia also announced retaliation against Canadian sanctions, barring hundreds of Canadian officials — including Prime Minister Justin Trudeau — from traveling to Russia.

As The Daily Wire reported:

On Tuesday, the Russian government has officially placed Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, along with 300 other Canadian officials, on a “black list,” barring any entry into the motherland because of Canada’s sanctions in response to President Vladimir Putin’s military invasion of Ukraine.

This step is forced and taken in response to the outrageous hostility of the current Canadian regime, which has tested our patience for so long. Every Russophobic attack, be it attacks on Russian diplomatic missions, airspace closures, or Ottawa’s actual severing of bilateral economic ties to the detriment of Canadian interests, will inevitably receive a decisive and not necessarily symmetrical rebuff.

Russia’s ban on Canadian government officials came within hours of Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky delivering remarks to Canada’s Parliament, asking repeatedly for help in creating a no-fly zone over Ukraine.

The United States and other NATO countries have thus far said that they will not participate in a no-fly zone, largely because it would require NATO nations to shoot down Russian planes in Ukrainian airspace — a move that would certainly lead to NATO being drawn directly into conflict with Russia.

The Daily Wire   >  Read   >  ‘I Want To Thank The Russian Academy’: Hillary Clinton Responds To News She’s Been Sanctioned By Russia