Joe Biden Says The Grand Canyon Is One Of ‘Earth’s Nine Wonders.’ There Are Seven.
US President Joe Biden discusses investments in conservation and protecting natural resources, and how the Inflation Reduction Act is the largest investment in climate action, at Red Butte Airfield, 25 miles (40kms) south of Tusayan, Arizona, on August 8, 2023. Biden announced he is putting the brakes on uranium mining around the Grand Canyon. Biden will give an area of nearly one million acres (404,686 hectares) "national monument" status. (Photo by Jim WATSON / AFP) (Photo by JIM WATSON/AFP via Getty Images)
JIM WATSON/AFP via Getty Images

President Joe Biden claimed on Tuesday that the Grand Canyon was “one of the earth’s nine wonders” despite the fact that there are only seven “Wonders of the World” — and all of those are man-made.

Biden’s trip to Arizona, a key battleground state that helped push him over the finish line in 2020, was primarily focused on the economy — and climate provisions included in his Inflation Reduction Act — amid record-breaking temperatures across the nation.


“The Grand Canyon — one of the earth’s nine wonders — wonders of the world. Literally. Think of that. You know, it’s amazing,” Biden said.

Critics quickly pointed out that there were only seven Wonders of the World – and the Grand Canyon was not included among them. In point of fact, both the original Wonders of the World – and the new list of wonders that was updated in 2007 — were all man-made.

The original list included the Great Pyramid at Giza, the Colossus of Rhodes, the Lighthouse of Alexandria, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Temple of Artemis, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, and the Hanging Gardens of Babylon — but of those, the only one to truly stand the test of time was the pyramid.

The updated list, as of 2007 – which was compiled after a global contest and more than 100 million votes — included seven new wonders that still stand: the Colosseum (Rome, Italy), Petra (Jordan), The Great Wall (China), Chechen Itza (Mexico), Machu Picchu (Peru), Christ the Redeemer (Brazil), and the Taj Mahal (India).

The Grand Canyon does appear on one such list, which was compiled by CNN in 1997, of the “Seven Natural Wonders of the World.” That list includes Mount Everest, Paricutin Volcano, the Grand Canyon, Victoria Falls, Rio de Janeiro Harbor, the Great Barrier Reef, and the Northern Lights.


Biden concluded his visit to Arizona with his first one-on-one interview in some time — with The Weather Channel — which aired on Wednesday.

One clip of that interview made the rounds early Wednesday morning after Biden brushed a bug off Stephanie Abrams’ chest.


Create a free account to join the conversation!

Already have an account?

Log in

Got a tip worth investigating?

Your information could be the missing piece to an important story. Submit your tip today and make a difference.

Submit Tip
Download Daily Wire Plus

Don't miss anything

Download our App

Stay up-to-date on the latest
news, podcasts, and more.

Download on the app storeGet it on Google Play
The Daily Wire   >  Read   >  Joe Biden Says The Grand Canyon Is One Of ‘Earth’s Nine Wonders.’ There Are Seven.