News and Commentary

CAMPUS INSANITY: Students Fight Oppressive Ice Cream Marginalizing Muslims, Vegans

Students at the University of Wisconsin-Madison are taking action against discriminatory and marginalizing ice cream on campus, since some of the flavors use a beef gelatin.

Yes, we’ve become so far removed from reality on college campuses that students are now fighting against oppressive ice cream. Talk about First World problems.

Students have crafted legislation, titled “Ice Cream for All,” demanding the ice cream at university-owned Babcock Dairy use more “inclusive” ingredients, thus ceasing the “marginalization” of “Muslim, Buddhist, Hindu, Jewish, Vegetarian, and Vegan students.”

As reported by The Washington Times, eight members of the Associated Students of Madison (ASM) presented their resolution last week. During the bizarre meeting, ASM members argue over their apparent right to ice cream and the seedy nature of Babcock Dairy.

But here’s where things really get insane: As confirmed by those in attendance at the meeting, and a spokesperson for the university, the school already has gelatin-free ice cream options available. ​In fact, when one of the members noted that Babcock Dairy already serves non-gelatin flavors, he was immediately shot down.

“So, that’s true, but that’s a small fraction of the flavors available,” responded another ASM member. “And very often those are less popular than the normal flavors. And the fact that, and if someone says there are non-gelatin flavors, it seems kind of disingenuous to say, ‘You shouldn’t have to be able to eat all of the flavors, you have to make due with just these few flavors’ — because they’re not the same; they’re totally different. So, personally, my favorite flavor ice cream is strawberry, and strawberry has gelatin in it. So, should I be deprived of strawberry ice cream from Babcock Dairy? I personally don’t believe so.”

As we all know, everyone is entitled to strawberry ice cream. It’s in the Constitution.

“The reasons given for not changing the gelatins, in the name of ‘tradition,’ exclude Muslim, Buddhist, Hindu, Jewish, Vegetarian, and Vegan students from partaking in eating the official, campus wide, traditional ice cream that is often listed as part of the ‘Wisconsin experience,'” reads the legislation, according to Breitbart Tech.

“Symbolic issues like these have always and will always play a critical role in whether marginalized students and people feel welcome, included, and connected to their community,” it continues.

According to The Washington Times, the council will put the ice cream resolution to a vote next week.