News and Commentary

President Trump Wins The Iowa Republican Caucuses
ATLANTA, GA - JANUARY 08: U.S. President Donald Trump on field during the national anthem prior to the CFP National Championship presented by AT&T between the Georgia Bulldogs and the Alabama Crimson Tide at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on January 8, 2018 in Atlanta, Georgia.
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

President Donald Trump won the Iowa Republican caucuses on Monday night, as he faced no serious competitors in what was seen as a symbolic vote.

The Associated Press reported that even though the vote was seen as a symbolic vote, the Trump team showed their “organizational strength” and showed up in force.

“It’s unusual for Iowa to even be holding a GOP contest with an incumbent in the White House,” the AP added. “But GOP Chairman Jeff Kaufman said state officials were determined to keep the caucuses in place this year to maintain the state’s status as the first in the nation to cast its ballots.”

Earlier in the day, Trump encouraged people in Iowa Iowans to caucus on Monday, tweeting: “Republicans in Iowa, go out and Caucus today. Your great Trade Deals with China, Mexico, Canada, Japan, South Korea and more, are DONE. Great times are coming, after waiting for decades, for our Farmers, Ranchers, Manufacturers and ALL. Nobody else could have pulled this off!”

The Trump campaign released the names of the more than 80 top surrogates that the campaign sent to the state:

  • Donald Trump Jr.
  • Eric Trump
  • Lara Trump, Trump 2020 Campaign Senior Advisor
  • Kimberly Guilfoyle, National Chair of Trump Victory Finance Committee and Trump 2020 Campaign Senior Advisor
  • Brad Parscale, Trump 2020 Campaign Manager
  • Governor Kim Reynolds (IA)
  • The Honorable David Bernhardt
  • The Honorable Wilbur Ross
  • The Honorable Ben Carson
  • The Honorable Betsy DeVos
  • The Honorable Mick Mulvaney
  • The Honorable Jovita Carranza
  • The Honorable Brooke Rollins
  • The Honorable Paula White
  • The Honorable Doug Hoelscher
  • Former Energy Secretary Rick Perry
  • Former Acting Attorney General Matthew Whitaker
  • Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA)
  • Governor Mike Parson (MO)
  • Governor Pete Ricketts (NE)
  • Governor Doug Burgum (ND)
  • Lieutenant Governor Jeanette Nunez (FL)
  • Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick (TX)
  • Congressman Steve Scalise (LA), House Republican Whip
  • Congresswoman Liz Cheney (WY), House Republican Conference Chair
  • Congressman Tom Emmer (MN), NRCC Chairman
  • Congressman Kevin Brady (TX)
  • Congressman Jim Jordan (OH)
  • Congressman Rodney Davis (IL)
  • Congressman Mark Meadows (NC)
  • Congressman Jason Smith (MO)
  • Congresswoman Elise Stefanik (NY)
  • Congressman Don Bacon (NE)
  • Congressman Matt Gaetz (FL)
  • Congressman Greg Pence (IN)
  • Former Congressman Rod Blum (IA)
  • State Senate President Pro Tempore Jerry Behn (IA)
  • State House Speaker Pro Tempore John Willis (IA)
  • State Sen. Jim Carlin (IA)
  • State Sen. Tom Greene (IA)
  • State Sen. Craig Johnson (IA)
  • State Sen. Carrie Koelker (IA)
  • State Sen. Tim Kraayenbrink (IA)
  • State Sen. Mark Lofgren (IA)
  • State Sen. Tom Shipley (IA)
  • State Rep. Cecil Dolecheck (IA)
  • State Rep. Gary Carlson (IA)
  • State Rep. Dean Fisher (IA)
  • State Rep. Tom Gerhold (IA)
  • State Rep. Stan Gustafon (IA)
  • State Rep. Ashley Hinson (IA)
  • State Rep. Steve Holt (IA)
  • State Rep. David Kerr (IA)
  • State Rep. Brian Lohse (IA)
  • State Rep. Dave Maxwell (IA)
  • State Rep. Ann Meyer (IA)
  • State Rep. Joe Mitchell (IA)
  • State Rep. Norlin Mommsen (IA)
  • State Rep. Sandy Salmon (IA)
  • State Rep. David Sieck (IA)
  • State Rep. Phil Thompson (IA)
  • State Rep. Gary Worthan (IA)
  • Todd Ricketts, Republican National Committee Finance Chairman
  • Corey Lewandowski, Trump 2020 Campaign Senior Advisor and Trump 2016 Campaign Manager
  • Katrina Pierson, Trump 2020 Campaign Senior Advisor
  • Mercedes Schlapp, Trump 2020 Campaign Senior Advisor of Strategic Communications and Former White House Senior Advisor for Strategic Communications
  • John Pence, Trump 2020 Campaign Senior Advisor
  • Chris Carr, Trump 2020 Campaign Political Director
  • Tim Murtaugh, Trump 2020 Campaign Communications Director
  • Kayleigh McEnany, Trump 2020 Campaign National Press Secretary
  • Marc Lotter, Trump 2020 Campaign Director of Strategic Communications
  • David Urban, Trump 2016 Campaign Senior Advisor
  • David Bossie, Trump 2016 Deputy Campaign Manager
  • Ken Blackwell, Former Ohio Secretary of State, Advisory Board Member of Black Voices for Trump and Pro-Life Voices for Trump
  • Ralph Reed, Chairman of the Faith & Freedom Coalition, Advisory Board Member of Pro-Life Voices for Trump
  • Penny Nance, CEO and President of Concerned Women for America (CWA), Advisory Board member of Women for Trump and Pro-Life Voices for Trump
  • Nancy Schulze, Founder of the Republican Congressional Wives Speakers, Advisory Board Member of Women for Trump
  • Jessie Jane Duff, Co-Chair of Veterans for Trump, Advisory Board Member of Women for Trump
  • Jerry Falwell Jr., President of Liberty University
  • Matt Schlapp, Chairman of the American Conservative Union
  • Mike Lindell, Inventor and CEO of My Pillow, Inc.

This is a breaking news story, refresh the page for updates.

Got a tip worth investigating?

Your information could be the missing piece to an important story. Submit your tip today and make a difference.

Submit Tip
Download Daily Wire Plus

Don't miss anything

Download our App

Stay up-to-date on the latest
news, podcasts, and more.

Download on the app storeGet it on Google Play
The Daily Wire   >  Read   >  President Trump Wins The Iowa Republican Caucuses