Here Are All The Gun Laws That Didn’t Stop The San Bernardino Shooters
As the left continues to move in lockstep in their calls for more gun control in the wake of the San Bernardino attack, it's important to note that there were already multiple gun laws in place in the state that failed to stop the shooters. Here's the list.
A Lengthy, Difficult Process to Obtaining a Gun
The San Jose Mercury News details the requirements and step-by-step process for obtaining a gun in California:
- Show a state ID
- Must be 18 years or older to obtain a shotgun or a rifle, 21 years old to buy a handgun
- Proof you live in the state
- Obtain a California Handgun Safety Certificate
- Prove you can load and unload a gun and tell if it's empty
- Obtain a firearm safety device
- Pass a background check
- Wait ten days
The background checks are universal in California, and the shooter passed one.
Assault Weapons Ban
The assault weapons banned under California law are specific guns, including AR-15s, AK-47s and Steetsweeper shotguns. Certain characteristics of guns are banned, which include:
- Detachable magazines of over 10 rounds
- Pistol grips
- Folding stock
California's state government has a list of every gun owner and the specific guns they own, and they can be tracked. As many defenders of the Second Amendment have noted, the registration sets the foundation for potential gun confiscation.
Guns From Other States
Radio host Dana Loesch writes in her book Hands Off My Gun, "If a purchaser is prohibited by law from legally owning in the state in which they live, they may not purchase a firearm in another state."
So the left's argument that California's strict gun laws don't matter because neighboring states have lax gun laws is invalid.
The Daily Wire highlighted these other gun laws in California on Thursday:
- You can't have a gun if you have a committed a violent crime, ruled as insane, or "a mentally disordered sex offender."
- Prohibitions on gun ownership for committing various misdemeanors or put into a mental health facility
- In order to get a handgun, people need to obtain a Handgun Safety Certificate , can only get one handgun every 30 days and only transport them if they're unloaded.
- Concealed carry licenses are incredibly hard to obtain and they're banned on college campuses
- Using a gun for self-defense is not legal if someone is attacking you with their fists Using a gun for self-defense is not legal if someone is attacking you with their fists, "unless the person being assaulted believes, and a reasonable person in the same or similar circumstances would also believe, that the assault is likely to inflict great bodily injury."
California is what Townhall's Katie Pavlich calls a "gun control utopia," and yet California's strict gun laws didn't stop the San Bernardino shooters from committing the act of terror.